Richard M. Riss
Bio for Richard and Kathryn Riss

Richard and Kathryn Riss have taught for several years at Zarephath Bible Institute, an undergraduate institution in New Jersey founded in 1908 by Alma White, where Richard is Assistant Professor. Prior to joining Zarephath, they both taught at Chicago Bible College and at Christian Life College in Mt. Prospect, Illinois.

Richard is the author of over forty published articles and six books, including A SURVEY OF TWENTIETH CENTURY REVIVAL MOVEMENTS IN NORTH AMERICA (Peabody, Mass.: Hendrickson Publishers, 1988), and has contributed an additional thirty articles to three different encyclopedias, including the ZONDERVAN DICTIONARY OF PENTECOSTAL AND CHARISMATIC MOVEMENTS. He is listed in the 1998 editions of WHO'S WHO IN AMERICA and WHO'S WHO IN THE WORLD. He is founder and editor of the AWAKENING mailing list on the internet.

Kathryn earned her B.A. degree from UCLA and completed an M.Div. magna cum laude at Trinity Evangelical Divinity School in Deerfield, Illinois, and a Th.M. degree at Princeton Theological Seminary. Kathryn and Richard co-authored their latest book, IMAGES OF REVIVAL, published by Destiny Image, Shippensburg, PA, in the summer of 1998. Kathryn was also part of the research team for the publication of the 27-volume ANCIENT CHRISTIAN COMMENTARY ON SCRIPTURE edited by Thomas C. Oden and Christopher A. Hall (Inter-Varsity Press, 1998).

Richard did his undergraduate work at the University of Rochester and completed a Master of Christian Studies degree at Regent College in Vancouver and an M.A. in Church History at Trinity Evangelical Divinity School. He is currently completing a Ph.D. degree in Theological and Religious Studies with an emphasis in Historical Studies at Drew University in Madison, Jersey.

Richard and Kathryn were both ordained interdenominationally at Zarephath in 1992, and have both been guest speakers at various churches and conferences for more than twenty years.

This page added on November 26, 1996
Last modified on October 11, 1998
Maintained by

© 1996 - 1998 Richard M. Riss